YMCA of Okanagan's Annual General Meeting

In-person group fitness classes are temporarily suspended due to recent provincial health regulations. Our centres remain open, and we continue to offer a variety of virtual options. Learn more

The YMCA of Okanagan held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on April 24, 2018 at the Kelowna Family YMCA where it’s 2018 Board of Directors were elected, as well as recognition of long-time staff and volunteers.

Board Members renewing their term include Board Chair, John Duff, Past Board Chair, Joni Metherell, as well as Judy Shoemaker, Sharon Varette, Steven Pavelich, David Bond, Rob Gibbings and Randy Schueler; as well as newly appointed Board Members, Brea Retzlaff, Deanne Taylor, and John Devitt.  

The AGM also recognized the outstanding volunteers who enable the YMCA to accomplish their charitable work. Carol Romanchuk was awarded The Jill Seibert Volunteer Award of Excellence; Madeline Bishop received the Youth Volunteer of the Year, and Marilyn Taylor was named the Significant Contribution (Gift of Time) recipient. 

Other notable achievements highlighted at the AGM included completion of a three-year strategic plan, the opening of their newest centre of community — the Kelowna Downtown YMCA — and new contracts secured for child care spaces and mental health programming.

To learn more about the YMCA of Okanagan’s impact, please visit https://www.ymcaokanagan.ca/.